Snowflake Project

Hi friends!! Just stopping by really quickly to tell you about something I saw today and think is really cool.

I think it’s fairly obvious, even through this anonymous kind of forum, that I don’t do a lot of the feelings. It’s just not my thing. I prefer my “don’t give no fuuuucks” attitude of living. Sometimes things happen that break through that stupid wall I have up and give me all the feels and I don’t know what to do about it.

What happened at Sandy Hook Elementary this month was one of those things. It literally makes my heart hurt every time I think about it. I still think about it on a daily basis and can’t catch my breath. It’s infuriating to me that someone could walk into a school and cause such terror for those children. On Christmas day I found myself appreciating my mom a little more while my heart broke thinking about those parents who didn’t get to spend Christmas with their FIRST GRADE CHILDREN because of this senselessness. There really are not sufficient words in the English language to describe something like this.

Today, I read about the Snowflake Project on Julie’s blog and I think it’s perfect. The children who previously attended Sandy Hook will be heading back to a new elementary school after the holidays. The PTA in Newtown has started this project to decorate the hallways of this new school for the students of Sandy Hook. Snowflakes will be accepted until January 12, 2013. Please mail your snowflakes to:

Connecticut PTSA
60 Connolly Parkway 
Building 12, Suite 103
Camden, CT 06514
 
paper snowflake

I know that this isn’t going to change the tragic events that took place on December 14, but I feel like it’s a small thing that can be done to make things just a little bit more magical for those kids who have to be scared to death to go back to school. And if anyone deserves a little magic right now, it’s them. Hands down.

newtown_ct_children

For more information on the Snowflake Project you can visit these websites.

Thoughts?

